ОЗЕРО НАЙВАША

Найваша – это живописное пресноводное озеро, окаймленное зарослями папируса, довольно широкое (около 13 км), но неглубоководное (средняя глубина – 5 м).

Площадь озера изменяется в среднем от 114 до 991 кв. км в зависимости от количества выпадающих осадков. В начале XX века Найваша полностью пересохло и фактически перестало существовать. Обнажившееся дно использовалось под пашни, пока спустя несколько лет мощные ливни не возродили озеро, воды которого поглотили все возведенные постройки.

В ненастную погоду озеро неспокойно, и на нем поднимаются довольно высокие волны, из-за чего оно получило название Найпоша, что на языке племени масаи означает «бурная вода».

Озеро Найваша и прилегающая территория – щедрый край, который плодородная земля и наличие воды превратили в один из важнейших сельскохозяйственных регионов Кении. Берега озера почти сплошь покрыты рощами желтокорой акации, называемой «деревом желтой лихорадки».

Рощи полны птиц, благодаря чему Найваша считается одним из лучших мест в мире для орнитологических наблюдений. Также вода привлекает много животных: среди акаций бродят жирафы, буйволы принимают грязевые ванны, а в кронах кричат обезьяны, пока бегемоты мирно дремлют на мелководье.

Окружающая местность также заслуживает внимания. Недалеко находятся 2 озера поменьше: Олоиден и ярко-зеленое кратерное озеро Соначи.

Where This Is Located

Start: End:
X
Note

Drag marker A to change the Origin.

Drag marker B to change the destination.

Loading map...

Loading

Lake Naivasha

Lake Naivasha is a beautiful freshwater lake, fringed by thick papyrus. The lake is almost 13kms across, but its waters are shallow with an average depth of five metres.

Lake area varies greatly according to rainfall, with an average range between 114 and 991 sq kms. At the beginning of the 20th Century, Naivasha completely dried up and effectively disappeared. The resulting open land was farmed, until heavy rains a few years later caused the lake to return to existence, swallowing up the newly established estates.

Afternoon wind and storms can cause the Lake to become suddenly rough and produce high waves. For this reason, the local Maasai christened the lake Nai’posha meaning ‘rough water’.

The lake and its surroundings are rich in natural bounty, and the fertile soils and water supply have made this one of Kenya’s prime agricultural regions. Much of the lake is surrounded by forests of the yellow barked Acacia Xanthophlea, known as the yellow fever tree.

These forests abound with bird life, and Naivasha is known as a world class birding destination. The waters of the lake draw a great range of game to these shores. Giraffes wander among the acacia, Buffalo wallow in the swamps and Colobus monkeys call from the treetops while the Lakes large hippo population sleep the day out in the shallows.

The region surrounding the Lake is well worth exploring. There are two more smaller lakes nearby, Oloidien, and Sonachi, a bright green crater lake.

Where This Is Located

Start: End:
X
Note

Drag marker A to change the Origin.

Drag marker B to change the destination.

Loading map...

Loading