МАРАЛАЛ

Маралал – последний населенный пункт, за которым начинаются дикие просторы Северной Кении… и настоящие приключения. Этот внешне простой город является центром жизни местного населения – народа самбуру. Его улицы всегда запружены верблюдами, отрядами воинов и торговцами.

За чертой города находится один из самых красивых регионов Кении. Здесь обширные засушливые равнины сменяются видами на живописную возвышенность Лороги-Хиллс и высокий, суровый горный хребет Мэттьюз.

Земля изрезана высохшими речными руслами, превратившимися в дорожные магистрали для караванов кочевых племен. Этот дикий край, разделяющий Маралал и Туркану, – идеальное место для искателей приключений.

Его протяженные безлюдные пространства открывают безграничные возможности для путешествий, позволяя полностью окунуться в мир дикой природы. Будь то автомобильная поездка к озеру Туркана или прогулка на верблюдах по землям самбуру, Маралал – отправная точка любого маршрута.

Дорога в Маралал

Добраться в Маралал можно на автобусе (матату) или автомобиле, следуя из Найроби через Баринго или Исиоло (приблизительное время в пути: 6 часов), а также воспользовавшись местным чартерным рейсом. Дальнейшее передвижение к северу от Маралала может оказаться затруднительным без личного транспорта. Но в городе достаточно много операторов, организующих сафари.

Проживание в Маралале

В Маралале можно найти самые разные виды жилья, на любой вкус и кошелек. Но чем дальше на север, тем скуднее становится выбор, хотя и здесь найдется немало вариантов для удобного проживания.

Питание в Маралале

Большинство местных отелей и кемпингов обеспечивают своих гостей полноценным питанием. А тех, кто отправляется в организованные сафари с ночевкой под открытым небом, обычно сопровождает превосходный повар, способный творить на костре настоящие чудеса кулинарии. Туристам, планирующим готовить для себя самостоятельно, рекомендуется закупать необходимые продукты в Маралале.

Where This Is Located

Start: End:
X
Note

Drag marker A to change the Origin.

Drag marker B to change the destination.

Loading map...

Loading

Maralal and Beyond

Maralal is a frontier town, the beginning of the Great Northern wilderness and the staging post for many great adventures. This simple town is a thriving centre for the local Samburu people, and the streets are always busy with camels, passing warriors and traders.

Maralal is a frontier town, the beginning of the Great Northern wilderness and the staging post for many great adventures. This simple town is a thriving centre for the local Samburu people, and the streets are always busy with camels, passing warriors and traders.

Beyond Maralal lies some of Kenya’s most beautiful country. Here the broad arid plains give way to the spectacular Loroghi Hills and the high, wild Matthews ranges. Dry river beds course through this land, and have become the tracks and routes of nomadic camel trains. The wild country between Maralal and Turkana is ideal for the adventure seeker.

Here in these vast empty spaces, there is freedom to explore and lose yourself in the wild. Whether you want to take a truck to Turkana or a camel through Samburu land, this is your starting point.

How to get to Maralal

Maralal is accessible from Nairobi via either Baringo or Isiolo, by either bus/matatu or private transport. There is an airstrip servicing charter aircraft. Driving time from Nairobi is approximately 6 hours. Accessing the North from Maralal can be difficult without private transport. Maralal is a good base for organized safaris.

Where to stay in Maralal

Maralal has a range of accommodation to suit all budgets, tastes and interests. As you head further north, options lessen, but there are still many interesting accommodation alternatives.

Where to Eat in Mararal

Most of the lodges and camps in this area offer good meals. For those camping out under the stars, most safari companies provide an excellent camp cook, who can produce culinary wonders from a campfire. For campers wanting to cook for themselves, the best town for supplies are Maralal.

Where This Is Located

Start: End:
X
Note

Drag marker A to change the Origin.

Drag marker B to change the destination.

Loading map...

Loading